Tibet Autonomous Region, China

The Autonomous Region of Tibet is after Xinjiang Uyghur the second largest Province/Autonomous Region of the People’s Republic of China.

The vast majority of the population are Tibetan but there is an international debate to extent Tibet more autonomy but the Chinese government argues that ample autonomy has been provided under Article 112 ~ 122 under the constitution of the People’s Republic of China.

Geography of Tibet

The Autonomous Region of Tibet is on the Tibetan plateau, which is the highest region in the world and elevations are up to 4572 metres above sea level. The Autonomous Region of Tibet borders the Autonomous Region of Xinjiang Uyghur, the provinces of Qinghai, Sichuan and Yunnan. It has international borders with Nepal, Bhutan and Uttarakhand, Sikkim of the State of Arunachal Pradesh in India,

The provincial capital of Tibet is Lhasa and Tibet has six prefecture cities which are Nagqu, Ngari, Nyingchi, Qamdo, Shannan and Xigaz’.

Economy of Tibet

The annual GDP of Tibet was just 34 billion yuan in 2007.

Touristic Attraction in Tibet

Tibet was only recently opened to tourists and the Potala Palace in Lhasa, the Jokhang Temple, the Namtso Lake and as well the historical Tashilhunpo Monastery are must see attractions during your visit to Tibet.

Read more:
Hainan is located on the southern coast of the People's Republic of China. Due to
Leshan Buddha in Sichuan ProvinceSichuan Province shares it's borders with the Municipality of Chongqing, Qinghai
The Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region has a land area of around 302 million acres, which
Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region is in northwest of the People's Republic of China. The Yellow
The word Henan in Chinese means the place south of the Yellow River. The province
View of Tianjin CityTianjin is the largest city in the North of the People's Republic

arArabic zh-hansChinese (Simplified)